Case Law Update: Owens v. Commissioner — Court Orders Award of Disability Benefits After a Nearly 20-Year Claim

Quick Answer

On Sept. 30, 2026, a Florida federal court reversed SSA in Owens v. Commissioner, No. 2:25-cv-506, and ordered benefits awarded from 2005 on a claim first filed in 2006.

Submit a Policy or Denial Letter for Review Free review by our property damage attorneys — response within 24 hours.Submit for Review →Ask A Lawyer Ask us anything about your claim — we're online now.Ask Us a Question →Pierre A. Louis, Esq.
Pierre A. Louis, Esq.Louis Law Group

10/14/2026 | 1 min read

What happened

On September 30, 2026, a United States magistrate judge in the Middle District of Florida reversed the Commissioner of Social Security and directed the agency to award disability benefits in Peter Owens, II v. Frank Bisignano, Commissioner of Social Security, No. 2:25-cv-506-JRK (Fort Myers Division). By the court’s count, the claim had been through at least seven hearings and six adverse decisions by administrative law judges. As the court noted, cases are generally remanded for further proceedings rather than for an award of benefits. The Opinion and Order directs the Clerk to enter a sentence-four judgment under 42 U.S.C. §§ 405(g) and 1383(c)(3) “REVERSING the Commissioner’s final decision and directing that the Commissioner AWARD BENEFITS as of the disability onset date of June 17, 2005.”

A claim almost twenty years old

The claimant protectively filed for disability insurance benefits (DIB) and supplemental security income (SSI) on November 16, 2006, alleging he could not work because of chronic back pain from a multi-level disc problem, depression, anxiety, and concentration issues. In the court’s words, “[t]hen began an almost twenty-year claim adjudication journey through the administrative and court process.”

Along the way, he won twice at the Appeals Council, twice before in this court, and once at the Eleventh Circuit. On a later SSI claim filed in 2010, the agency found him disabled as of March 1, 2010, leaving a closed period in dispute before that date. For DIB, his date last insured was December 31, 2007.

In a September 26, 2024 order, the same judge reversed an earlier denial because of errors in evaluating the opinion of consultative psychologist Kenneth A. Visser, Ph.D. — the same opinion that had led to a 2021 reversal. The claimant asked for an award of benefits then. The court declined, writing that the factual question of whether and when he became disabled before December 31, 2007 was for the agency “in the first instance.”

On remand, another ALJ held a hearing on April 9, 2025 and, on April 16, 2025, refused to reopen a 2003 application and found the claimant not disabled from June 17, 2005 through February 28, 2010. The Appeals Council took no action within sixty-five days, making that the Commissioner’s final decision, and the claimant filed his federal complaint on June 11, 2025.

Why the court awarded benefits this time

The claimant raised four errors and, as a fifth point, asked the court to remand for an award of benefits rather than another hearing. According to the order, the Commissioner “concede[d] error on the part of the ALJ (without explicitly saying so)” and argued only that the case should go back for further proceedings. The claimant’s renewed argument that Dr. Visser’s opinion was improperly analyzed went uncontested.

The court applied the Eleventh Circuit standard that an award is appropriate when the Commissioner “has already considered the essential evidence and it is clear that the cumulative effect of the evidence establishes disability without any doubt.” Davis v. Shalala, 985 F.2d 528, 534 (11th Cir. 1993). It pointed to several facts:

  • “This is a closed period case. The relevant period at issue ended more than fifteen years ago.”
  • “There is no other evidence for the SSA to consider.”
  • The claimant “has already been found to be disabled by the SSA just one day after the period at issue here ended.”
  • Error in evaluating Dr. Visser’s opinion had been found multiple times.

Quoting another Middle District of Florida decision, the court wrote that when it is “exceedingly unlikely that [another] hearing will change anything,” and “the cumulative effect of the essential evidence and multiple remands plainly identifying these same errors is clear,” an award of benefits is appropriate. Torres v. Comm’r of Soc. Sec., No. 6:23-cv-1691-RBD-RMN, 2024 WL 3179418, at *2 (M.D. Fla. June 26, 2024).

The onset date mattered too. In 2024 the claim reached back to November 2002, and the court had noted that the evidence tended to show a worsening mental state during the period. This time the ALJ ruled only on June 17, 2005 onward, the claimant did not contest the refusal to reopen, and he asked the court to find disability as of June 17, 2005. “All of the circumstances present here, including the significant change in the alleged onset date,” the court wrote, convinced it that “a finding of disability without any doubt is now warranted.”

What this means if your disability claim has been remanded before

This is one district court order on an unusual record, and it does not decide anyone else’s claim. Awards of benefits remain the exception, but the decision shows what this court looked for.

Ask for the remedy. The claimant argued for an award of benefits in his opening brief, as a separate point, and again in reply.

Repeated errors count. The court noted that error in evaluating the same examiner’s opinion had been found multiple times. If an ALJ repeats a mistake a court or the Appeals Council already flagged, document that history in the brief.

Closed periods and later approvals matter. When the disputed period ended long ago and there is no other evidence for the agency to consider, another hearing may add little. A later finding of disability that begins right where the disputed period ends was part of this court’s reasoning.

The onset date shapes the case. Here, the later onset date helped resolve the hesitation that kept the court from awarding benefits in 2024.

If your disability claim has been denied or sent back more than once, our Social Security disability guide explains how the appeals process works, and you can request a free case evaluation. More rulings are on our case law updates page.

Louis Law Group did not represent the claimant in this case. Case cited: Owens v. Commissioner of Social Security, No. 2:25-cv-506-JRK (M.D. Fla.), Doc. 31, Opinion and Order dated Sept. 30, 2026. This article reflects that Opinion and Order; it may be subject to appeal. Current as of October 14, 2026.

Submit a Policy or Denial Letter for Review

Our property damage attorneys will review your case and respond within 24 hours · Free · Confidential

Pierre A. Louis, Esq.

Pierre A. Louis, Esq.

Pierre A. Louis is an attorney and founder of Louis Law Group, specializing in property damage insurance claims and Social Security disability (SSDI/SSI). He has recovered over $200 million for clients against major insurance companies.

Have a policy or denial letter? Get a free attorney review — 24-hour response.Check Your Eligibility →Ask a Question (833) 657-4812

★★★★★ 4.7 · 67 Google Reviews

What Our Clients Say

Real reviews from real clients who fought their insurance companies — and won.

★★★★★

"Citizens denied our roof leak claim, but this firm fought for us and got money for our repairs. We even had funds left over after fixing the roof."

★★★★★

"Pierre and his team are amazing. They truly cater to their clients and help you get the most from your insurance company."

★★★★★

"When my insurance company denied my roof damage claim, Louis Law Group stepped in and fought for me. I'm extremely satisfied with the results they obtained."

★★★★★

"They accomplished exactly what they set out to do and helped me finally receive my insurance check."

★★★★★

"Louis Law Group handled our homeowners insurance dispute and got results much faster than we expected. Excellent service and great communication."

★★★★★

"Very professional attorneys with outstanding attention to detail. They will not stop fighting for their clients."

* Reviews from Google. Results may vary by case.

How it Works

No Win, No Fee

We like to simplify our intake process. From submitting your claim to finalizing your case, our streamlined approach ensures a hassle-free experience. Our legal team is dedicated to making this process as efficient and straightforward as possible.

You can expect transparent communication, prompt updates, and a commitment to achieving the best possible outcome for your case.

Free Case Evaluation

Let's get in touch

We like to simplify our intake process. From submitting your claim to finalizing your case, our streamlined approach ensures a hassle-free experience. Our legal team is dedicated to making this process as efficient and straightforward as possible.

12 S.E. 7th Street, Suite 805, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33301